Breaking News: Okada Riders Ban From Lagos


The commercial motorcyclists popularly known as Okada riders have started relocating from Lagos State as the total ban on their operation takes effect from today.

It was gathered that following the clampdown on their operation in Lagos, many of the Okada riders are either relocating to their towns and villages while others are relocating to neighbouring states like Ogun and Oyo States.

The state government has said there is no going back on.

Recall that Lagos State Government banned okada riders from operating in six local governments’ areas – Ikeja, Eti-Osa, Lagos Island, Surulere, Apapa and Lagos Mainland Local Governments.

The ban covers nine Local Council Development Areas (LCDAs) under the council including Onigbongbo, Ojodu, Ikoyi-Obalende, Iru-Victoria Island, Lagos Island East, Itire-Ikate, Coker-Aguda, Iganmu and Yaba.Meanwhile, this is not the first time the state would be banning commercial motorcycles.

READ ALSO: JUST IN: Woman Dies On The Spot After Falling Off Okada In Lagos As Rider Tries To Avoid Arrest

After the ban in 2020 which also included tricycles, there was a total implementation across the state but months after the authorities relaxed and the riders returned to major roads and highways in the state.

However, the state government re-imposed the ban after a sound engineer was killed by some Okada riders in the Lekki area of the state last month.

The government has insisted that the present ban would be total and there is no going back on it.

It also dismissed reports of anxiety and tension, charging Lagosians to go about their normal businesses.

Watch Leakblast TV channel from around the world

Call Us: +234(0)8080859239

Get us on Whatsapp: +234(0)8181166425


Good  journalism costs a lot of money.

For continued free access to the best investigative journalism in the country we ask you to consider making a modest support to this noble Endeavor.

By contributing to LeakBlast, you are helping to sustain a journalism of relevance and ensuring it remains free and available to all.

Support LeakBlast


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here