Delta youths endorse Atiku, Okowa others


Youths from Delta state under the auspices of Concerned Youth Presidents in Burutu Local Government Area of the state, on Wednesday endorsed the presidential candidate of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP), Alhaji Atiku Abubakar for next Saturday’s general election.

The group also endorsed all PDP candidates in the state, charging the youths in Burutu council area to massively support the reelection bid of Governor Okowa and his deputy, Barr. Kingsley Burutu Otuaro.

The youth group who stated this in a press statement signed by over ten youth groups from Burutu council, stressed that entrusting Delta to the duo of Governor Okowa and his Deputy once a again, was the right thing to do.

The group described Governor Okowa as a “development guru and a friend to the youths,” adding that Deltans were not ready to trade Okowa’s ambition for anything as his works were very visible in all nooks and crannies of the state.

Some other candidates the group also endorsed include Sen. James Manager for Senate; Hon. Julius Pondi for House of Representatives, Burutu Federal Constituency; Hon. Asupa Forteta, for Burutu North, Delta State House of Assembly and Hon. Pullah Ekpotuayerin for Burutu South, Delta State House of Assembly.

The statement reads in part, “As youth Presidents in Burutu Local Government Area here in Delta State, we can’t seat idle and watch any longer, we are all aware that Nigeria is now the headquarters of poverty in the World, there is high level of insecurity, Ijaws are hunted from left, right and center, alarming rate of unemployment.

“Hunger and hardship at its highest level; Judiciary in a comatose state and a Nigeria that is not working. We have resolved that at our level as leaders, there is need to test Atiku who is the candidate of the PDP in the presidential election, the present government is like a nightmare to our people hence the need to try another leg.

“It is in our interest as Ijaw people that Sen. James E. Manager should be returned to represent Delta South Senatorial District once more. He is high ranking, he knows the job very well and has been delivering to the admiration of all in the senatorial district. He has so many works across Delta South to his credit.

“Hon. Julius Pondi, member representing Burutu Federal Constituency, House of Representatives is a rare leader in Burutu Local Government politics and Delta State at large, as a first timer, he does not appear so, he has visibly transformed the lives of many youths in Burutu Federal Constituency and by extension Niger Delta.

“As a legislator he has performed well, projects have been influenced to communities in Burutu Local Government Area, his primary constituency, he had also been instrumental in many political appointments in the Local Government Area, he is loved by the people and above all, a voice to reckon with in the house of representatives.

“Hon. Asupa Forteta is one leader that the people of Burutu Local Government will always cue behind, he has this penchant appetite for the overall development of the Local Government, he has been doing his part in the emerging new Burutu. He has the people at heart, we will not waver in sending him to represent Burutu North in the Delta State House of Assembly.

“We have also revolved to vote Mr. Pullah Ekpotuayerin, candidate of the PDP for Burutu South, Delta State House of Assembly to represent the constituency, we are fully ready to deliver you all during the elections” The youth presidents vows.”

The group maintained that the decision to throw their weight behind the candidates was for the interest of the good spirited youths of Burutu Local Government Area, the constituencies they represent and the entire Ijaw nation.

The youth leaders also vowed to back their endorsement with action by delivering massive votes for the PDP candidates during the elections.

The youth presidents that signed the statement include Amb. Binebai Yerin Princewill, youth president of Burutu community, headquarters of the Local Government Area; Mr. Sunday Amos Fidelis, youth president, Ogulagha community; Amb. Dere Podoki, youth president, Odimodi community; Comr. Samuel E. Uyadongha, youth president, Obotobo II community; Comr. Pere A. Guwor, youth president, Youbebe community; Comr. Tonbrapagha Oleh, youth president, Yokiri community.

Others are: Comr. Perebosigha Dose, youth president, Sokebolou community; Mr. John Gbabare, youth president, Obotobo I community; Comr. Famous Nianta, youth president, Ayakoromo community; Amb. ThankGod Etonwei, youth president, Ojobo community; Comr. Oyanimigha Paul, youth president, Obotebe community and other youth presidents in the Local Government Area that gave their consents for the endorsement.

Thanks for reading via the most updated news portal


Good  journalism costs a lot of money.

For continued free access to the best investigative journalism in the country we ask you to consider making a modest support to this noble Endeavor.

By contributing to LeakBlast, you are helping to sustain a journalism of relevance and ensuring it remains free and available to all.

Support LeakBlast


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here