Ex- Ekiti SSG Oyebanji Wins APC Governorship Primary Election.

Former Secretary to  Ekiti State Government, Hon. Biodun  Oyebanji, on Thursday won the governorship primary election of the All Progressives Congress (APC) held in the state.
This makes him(Oyebanji) to emerge the party’s flag bearer for the June 18 poll Oyebanji, who hails from Ikogosi-Ekiti, in Ekiti Central Senatorial District, was alleged to be Governor Kayode Fayemi’s anointed aspirant.
The Chairman of the electoral committee, Governor Muhammed Abubakar Badaru of Jigawa state, who  declared the results of the election which was held in all the 177 wards said  Oyebanji polled the highest number of votes to defeat other seven contestants.
According to him, Oyebanji won the election having scored the highest number of votes in all the 16 Local Government Areas of the state.
The records of what Oyebanji polled in all the councils are as follow
Ado-LG 9,380
Efon LG    3,047
Ekiti East LG 5574
Ekiti West LG. 11,399
Emure. 4,018
Ekiti Southwest 5,880
Irepodun/ Ifelodun. 4297
Gbonyin. 5690
Ijero. 6,714
Moba 8,196
Ilejemeje. 3011
Ikere. 5,546
Oye 9,359
Ikole. 9,619
Ido-Osi. 5,368
Ise/Orun . 4048
Registered members 183560
Accredited members 107877
Total votes cast 104983
Badaru announced that, the former SSG, Biodun Oyebanji scored 101,703, National Assembly member, Senator Opeyemi Bamidele polled 760 votes, former Minister of Works, Senator Dayo Adeyeye scored 691 votes, while Engr. Kayode Ojo got 767 votes.
Others are House of Representatives member, Hon Femi Bamisile polled 400 votes, Aviation expert, Demola Popoola scored 239, former House of Representatives member, Hon Faparusi garnered 376 votes, and Oluwasola Afolabi polled 47 votes.
Recall the other seven contestants had earlier withdrawn from the process and called for its cancellation, having alleged that the exercise was characterised by irregularities. This perhaps contributed to the low scores they got in most of the wards from the records of the returning officers, Badaru who spoke with journalists after declaring the winner, appreciated the party members for their display of maturity and cooperation which led to the success of the poll.
He noted that the election was transparent and devoid of any manipulation, saying the method for the exercise was reached by all aspirants during a stakeholders meeting held on Wednesday.
He called on the winner to be magnanimous in victory while those who lost should be strong in defeat.

Watch Leakblast TV channel from around the world

Call Us: +234(0)8080859239

Get us on Whatsapp: +234(0)8181166425


Good  journalism costs a lot of money.

For continued free access to the best investigative journalism in the country we ask you to consider making a modest support to this noble Endeavor.

By contributing to LeakBlast, you are helping to sustain a journalism of relevance and ensuring it remains free and available to all.

Support LeakBlast


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here