FG reopens borders after three years


The Federal Government has approved the reopening of four land borders which were shut down in August 2019.

Recall that the President Muhammadu Buhari-led administration closed major borders as part of efforts to curtail smuggling and boost local production of rice and other products.

The government, however, on December 16, 2020, approved the reopening of some of the borders, including Mfum, Seme, Illela and Maigatari borders.

READ ALSO: UPU loses foremost woman leader at 95

Similarly, a circular issued on Friday by the Deputy Comptroller-General of the Customs Service, E. I. Edorhe said Idiroko border post in Ogun State, Kamba border post in Kebbi State, Jibiya border post in Katsina State and Ikom border post in Cross River State have been reopened.

“Consequently, all Customs formations and Joint Border Patrol Teams are to take note and ensure that proper manning takes place in compliance with extant operational guidelines”, the statement added.

Watch Leakblast TV channel from around the world

Call Us: +234(0)8080859239

Get us on Whatsapp: +234(0)8181166425


Good  journalism costs a lot of money.

For continued free access to the best investigative journalism in the country we ask you to consider making a modest support to this noble Endeavor.

By contributing to LeakBlast, you are helping to sustain a journalism of relevance and ensuring it remains free and available to all.

Support LeakBlast


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here