Just In: Ex-Governors, Senators Turn Event Planners As Late Yar’Adua’s Son Weds In Maiduguri


The Former Nigerian leaders, including Ministers and Senators, have been appointed to handle different sections for the wedding of Shehu, son of the late President Umaru Musa Yar’Adua.

That preparations are ongoing for the wedding scheduled to hold on Saturday, July 30, 2022, in Maiduguri, Borno State.

Shehu would be joined in marriage to his beautiful heartthrob Yacine, daughter of Hon. Mohammed Nur Sheriff, representing Bama/Ngala/Kalabalge federal constituency in the House of Representatives.

The event welcomed the presence of top politicians, traditional rulers, captains of industry and members of the diplomatic community.

The sources reportedly claimed that the committee has been meeting in the past few weeks at the residence of the groom’s mother and former First Lady, Hajia Turai Yar’Adua, in preparation for both Saturday’s wedding Fatiha in Maiduguri and the 31st July dinner in Abuja.

“Apart from the central planning committee chaired by Yayale with former Defence Minister, Alhaji Lawal Batagarawa as deputy and Brigadier General Mustapha Dennis Onoyiveta (rtd), former ADC to Yar’Adua as secretary, six sub-committees.

“The finance sub-committee is headed by former Kebbi State Governor, Senator Muhammed Adamu Aliero with former PDP National Chairman, Alhaji Adamu Muazu as deputy. Dr Tanimu Yakubu Kurfi is the secretary.

READ ALSO: Identities Of Eleven APC Governors That Attended Shettima’s Unveiling Revealed

“The transport/logistics sub-committee is chaired by former Bauchi State Governor, Mallam Isa Yuguda while the venue/protocol/reception sub-committee is chaired by former Katsina State Governor, Alhaji Ibrahim Shema with former Kebbi State Governor, Alhaji Saidu Dakingari as deputy.

“The media/publicity sub-committee is chaired by Mr. Olusegun Adeniyi with former Minister of State for Defence, Mallam Murtala Yar’Adua, first cousin to the groom, as deputy.

“The security sub-committee is chaired by Major General A.T. Ibrahim (rtd) with Mallam Yusuf Tilde, CSO to the late president, as deputy. The women affairs sub-committee is chaired by Dr Salamatu Suleiman with Hon Aishatu Dukku as deputy,” the sources disclosed.

Other members of the central planning committee according to the report include Senator Sanusi Daggash, Dr Aliyu Modibbo, Senator Garba Yakubu Lado, Alhaji Ikra Aliyu Bilbis, Alhaji Shehu Inuwa, Imam, Amb. Habib Baba Habu, Mr Matt Aikhionbare, Dr Salisu Banye, Alhaji Mustapha Batsari, Amb. Sani Bala, Amb. Bashir Yuguda, Alhaji Kashim Ibrahim-Imam, Amb. Sani Bala, Alhaji Inuwa Baba, Alhaji Salisu Yusuf Majigiri, Alhaji Abubakar Yar’Adua, Mr Mustapha Yar’Adua, Mallam Abubakar Mohammed, Mallam Bashir Maimaje, Mr Mohammed Adamu, Amb. Haroon Umar, Alhaji Ibrahim Mohammed, Lt Col Abdulaziz Yar’Adua (rtd), Mr Dahiru Dodo, Hajiya Hafisatu Yar’Adua, Mallam Isa Mamman Charanchi, Mallam Muntari Alhaji Aminu Maigari and Maimaje.

Watch Leakblast TV channel from around the world

Call Us: +234(0)8080859239

Get us on Whatsapp: +234(0)8181166425


Good  journalism costs a lot of money.

For continued free access to the best investigative journalism in the country we ask you to consider making a modest support to this noble Endeavor.

By contributing to LeakBlast, you are helping to sustain a journalism of relevance and ensuring it remains free and available to all.

Support LeakBlast


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here