Ondo ex-gov’s son, former Information Commissioner get Reps tickets


The All Progressives Congress, APC, in Ondo State has moved the Primaries for the Akoko South West/Akoko South-East Federal constituency to Akure, the state capital after reported disturbance and high security concerns in Oka-Akoko hampered the process.

The primary election was held at the International Cultural and Event Center in Akure due to the security situation.

The delegates had already been screened by the House of Representatives primary election committee and were issued party membership cards and a voter card, with security agents, INEC officials, and journalists present to observe the process.

Meanwhile, Gboyega Adefarati, the son of a former Ondo State governor and the immediate past Commissioner for Local Government Affairs won the APC for the federal constituency amidst tight security.

Adefarati received 95 votes, defeating serving House of Representatives member Ade Adeogun, who received two votes, and other hopefuls Victor Ategbole who got six votes, John Adanike, one vote, and Stephen Adeyeri, three votes.

The APC electoral primary committee Chairman, Dr Kingsley Nwankwere, announced the results of the primary, saying two votes were void and 21 ballot papers were not used.

Dr. Nwankwere stated that the exercise complied with all applicable laws and that Adefarati would be the APC candidate for the federal constituency in the 2023 general elections.

Adefarati told reporters after his emergence that he was pleased with how the procedure was done in a transparent and peaceful manner.

READ ALSO: Candidates emerge in Osun APC legislative primaries

He acknowledged that if the primary had been conducted in Oka Akoko, many lives would have been lost, claiming that hundreds of heavily armed political hoodlums would have invaded the venue, creating security breaches.

Donald Ojogo, the state’s former Commissioner for Information and Orientation, also won the APC primary in the Ilaje/Ese-Odo Federal Constituency.

Ojogo, the state’s former Commissioner for Information and Orientation, received 67 votes to defeat Idowu Mafimisebi, who received 34 votes, and Ayara, who received seven votes.

In his victory speech, the winner thanked party leaders and people in the federal constituency for their support in helping him become the party’s candidate.

Watch Leakblast TV channel from around the world

Call Us: +234(0)8080859239

Get us on Whatsapp: +234(0)8181166425


Good  journalism costs a lot of money.

For continued free access to the best investigative journalism in the country we ask you to consider making a modest support to this noble Endeavor.

By contributing to LeakBlast, you are helping to sustain a journalism of relevance and ensuring it remains free and available to all.

Support LeakBlast


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here