Osun Assembly confirms six nominees as commissioners, Special Advisers


The Osun State House of Assembly, on Tuesday, confirmed six commissioners and special advisers-nominees forwarded by the State Governor, Adegboyega Oyetola on June 23, 2022.

The list was confirmed after a motion moved by Babatunde Komolafe, lawmaker representing Atakumosa East/West State Constituency and seconded by Adeniran Atidade, the lawmaker representing Ede South State Constituency respectively.

Earlier, the Assembly had adopted the report of the Simeon Popoola-led seven-man adhoc screening committee which screened nominees and had recommended that all the nominees be confirmed.

The Assembly Speaker, Timothy Owoeye, in his remark stated that the ad hoc committee was setup to screen the nominees in accordance with Section 103 of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, 1999.

Owoeye directed the State Governor to go ahead and swear in the nominees.

READ ALSO: At least four killed as APC primary for House of Representatives and house of assembly positions turn bloody in Igando

The confirmed nominees who are former cabinet members in the Adegboyega Oyetola administration were screened on Friday, July 2, 2022 by the seven-man ad hoc committee setup by the Assembly Speaker, Timothy Owoeye, on June 23.

They included: former Osun Commissioner for Finance, Henry Bode Olaonipekun, Olubukola Olaboo, Sola Oladepo, Aleem Bakare, Lateefat Giwa and Olanike Omoworare.

Watch Leakblast TV channel from around the world

Call Us: +234(0)8080859239

Get us on Whatsapp: +234(0)8181166425


Good  journalism costs a lot of money.

For continued free access to the best investigative journalism in the country we ask you to consider making a modest support to this noble Endeavor.

By contributing to LeakBlast, you are helping to sustain a journalism of relevance and ensuring it remains free and available to all.

Support LeakBlast


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here