Two PDP lawmakers defect to APC


Two House of Representatives from Cross River State has defected from the People Democratic Party (PDP) to the All Progressives Congress (APC).

They Idagbo Ochiglegor representing Obanliku/Obudu/Bekwarra and Michael Etaba from Obubra/Eating federal Constituencies.

In their separate letters read at yesterday’s plenary by Speaker Femi Gbajabiamila, the lawmakers said they decided to leave the PDP as a result of crisis within the main opposition party.

However, the Deputy Minority Leader Toby Okechukwu, raised a point of order to draw the attention of the House to section 68 of the Constitution which requires defecting lawmakers to vacate their seats.

He dismissed claims by the defecting lawmakers of a crisis existing within the PDP, saying the PDP was in no crisis.

READ ALSO: PDP rage over another Head of states defection to APC

Okechukwu regretted that members of the House has continued to violate constitutional provisions by remaining on their seat after defection, adding that the House should decide whether to be a House that obeys the law or a House that breaks the law.

He insisted that the two lawmakers should be made to vacate their seats in the House.

Noting the point of order, the Speaker said the fact that two members of the same party defected on the same day was indicative of a crisis.

He, however, said that it was only the court that can decide on the issue of whether there is a crisis or not.

The defection of the two lawmakers came barely a month after Cross River State Governor Prof. Ben Ayade dumped the PDP for APC.

Watch Leakblast TV channel from around the world

Call Us:+234(0)8080859239


Good  journalism costs a lot of money.

For continued free access to the best investigative journalism in the country we ask you to consider making a modest support to this noble Endeavor.

By contributing to LeakBlast, you are helping to sustain a journalism of relevance and ensuring it remains free and available to all.

Support LeakBlast


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here