…Ugwuanyi, Badaru return, Yahaya wins Gombe


The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) confirmed Governor Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi won  Saturday’s governorship election, on the platform of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP), with 449,934 votes, to defeat all other contestants.

The All Progressives Congress (APC) polled 10,423 while the only female candidate in the contest, Mr. Nnenna Anozie, got 156 votes.

Results of the 17 council areas of the state, as announced by INEC’s collation/returning officers showed that the PDP got over 98 per cent of the total votes cast in the election.

Total accredited voters stood at 478,241, was less than 25 per cent of the total registered voters in the state which is 1,944,803.

Declaring the results, the Returning Officer, Vice Chancellor of the Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka, Anambra State, Prof. Joseph Ahaneku, said that PDP won with 449,935 votes. 

“By the power vested on me, I, Professor Joesph Ahaneku, hereby, declare Mr. Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi of the PDP, the winner of the March 9, 2019 governorship election held in Enugu state. Having satisfied the requirements of the law and scored the highest number of votes he is hereby declared winner and returned elected,” he declared.

In Lagos State, the governor-elect, Babajide Sanwo-Olu, said, yesterday night, that he received a call from the governorship candidate of the PDP, Jimi Agbaje, congratulating him on winning the election.

Sanwo-Olu won the election with over 533, 000 votes.

The governor-elect disclosed this, yesterday, at the state APC secretariat .

“At exactly 19.07, I received a congratulatory call from Mr. Jimi Agbaje which was filled with kind words. It was an intense campaign and I am happy that we can now focus on the very important job at hand, which is delivering the Lagos that works. 

“I am grateful to the national and state leadership of my party; for their support and I deeply appreciate our members and the voters who put thier confidence in me. This victory is for all of you…The election is over and I implore them to stop. This is the time to build a better Lagos,” Sanwo-Olu said.


 In Jigawa, the  APC party candidate, Alhaji Muhammed Badaru Abubakar, won the governorship election with 810,933 votes, to beat his closest opponent of the PDP, Mallam Aminu Ibrahim Ringim, who polled 288,356 votes.

The result was announced by Prof. Azubukwe Sunny Nwankwo at 5.30pm, yesterday.

Prof. Nwankwo  is provost of the Nigerian Defence Academy Kaduna and served as the governorship returning officer in the state. The APC also clinched all 30 seats of the state Assembly.

Badaru won in all the 27 local government areas.


The APC also won in Gombe State, with a sitting PDP governor.

The party polled 364,179 votes to beat the PDP candidate, Bayero Nafada, who which 222, 868 votes in Saturday’s poll.

According to the state Returning Officer and Vice Chancellor of Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University, Bauchi, Professor Saminu Ibrahim, Gombe has 1, 394, 386 total registered voters.

He said that 627,451 voters were accredited for the election while the total votes cast in Saturday’s poll were 623, 230.

He also announced that the total valid votes were 608, 846 while a total of 143, 84 votes were rejected.

APC won the governorship poll with a difference of 141, 311 votes; from 10, out of 11 local government areas  in the state.

Lagos Assembly

Hon. Desmond  Elliott, of the APC, has been declared winner of the Lagos State Assembly for Surulere Consistuency 1.

He polled 15357 votes to beat Benjamin Olasukaumi of the PDP,  who scored 3628 votes.

Thanks for reading via the most updated news portal

Share your story with us:

Call Us:+234(0)9073726403
Get us on Whatsapp: +234(0)8181166425
Email Us: editors@leakblast.com


Good  journalism costs a lot of money.

For continued free access to the best investigative journalism in the country we ask you to consider making a modest support to this noble Endeavor.

By contributing to LeakBlast, you are helping to sustain a journalism of relevance and ensuring it remains free and available to all.

Support LeakBlast


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here