Uncertainty, tension as okada ban begins in Lagos


The total ban on Okada, recently ordered by the Governor of Lagos State, Babajide Sanwo-Olu, comes into effect today.

The ban on Okada riders’ operations will affect six Local Government Areas.

They are: Ikeja, Lagos Island, Eti-Osa, Apapa, Surulere and Lagos Mainland.

Sanwo-Olu has directed that from June 1, security operatives in the State should enforce the proscription order across the listed councils.

The Lagos State Police Command has made it clear that both motorcyclists and passengers who disobey the new ban on Okada operations will be arrested and prosecuted.

Benjamin Hundeyin, the Lagos State Public Relations Officer, disclosed this in a tweet.

READ ALSO: 2023 Election: What Osinbajo Said After Being Screened 

“Under the new total ban of motorcycles in six local government areas of Lagos State, passengers and riders alike will be arrested and prosecuted.

“The passenger is an accomplice. Ignorance will not be an excuse!” Hundeyin tweeted.

The Lagos State Police Command has also reacted to fears over motorcycle operators’ “plan to cause violence”.

Ahead of the enforcement, the riders reportedly threatened to disrupt social and commercial activities.

However, Hundeyin has assured Lagosians of safety, disclosing that the Commissioner, Abiodun Alabi has deployed human, material and operational resources to forestall a breakdown of law and order.

Benjamin noted that a carefully drafted security architecture, resulting from a detailed crime-mapping of the State, has been emplaced.

Watch Leakblast TV channel from around the world

Call Us: +234(0)8080859239

Get us on Whatsapp: +234(0)8181166425


Good  journalism costs a lot of money.

For continued free access to the best investigative journalism in the country we ask you to consider making a modest support to this noble Endeavor.

By contributing to LeakBlast, you are helping to sustain a journalism of relevance and ensuring it remains free and available to all.

Support LeakBlast


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here